RSS

Vegan versus plant strong redux

10 May

Today I am grateful to my fellow vegan, all vegan organisations and vegan advice hubs who make the world a better place for human and non-human animals.

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Recently I blogged about the different terms people are coming up with to describe a diet that excludes animal products. I was wondering about the differences between being ‘vegan’ and ‘eating a plant based diet’.

I thought that the plant based diet description had the advantage that it could come in degrees. You can eat a mostly plant based diet but it sounds odd, to my ear, though I do say it, that you eat a mostly vegan diet. I thought the plant based diet might also lack the vegan concern for animal welfare and focus more on human health. As Vegan Soapbox notes, plant strong folks can wear leather and engage in other practices that harm animals. It’s all about human health and what you eat.

But now just after posting, I’ve noticed a third difference. Vegans can eat junk food consistently and still follow a vegan…

View original post 172 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 10/05/2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
