RSS

22 May 2012: a classic coffee set

22 May

Today I am grateful to my Mom for giving us her classic porcelain coffee set. I remember it back for as long as  I can remember myself: it’s always sat in our glass display cabinet at home. Despite my protests, my Mom gave it to us. It’s got tiny cups, tiny saucers for them, a slim and tall coffee pot, on the lid of which there is a little nod, to grab the top of the pot as you pour coffee, so that the lid does not come off. There is a short and plump sugar bowl and a matching creamer. Drinking coffee with it feels so civilised.

Coffee anyone?

Coffee anyone? (Photo credit: Natashalatrasha)

And on every item there is some mysterious design that has bothered me since childhood. I still cannot figure out what it is. I have decided when I was a girl that it was a broken old African tree – and I have not been able to come up with a better solution since.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 22/05/2012 in Gratitude

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment